While shoplifting may seem like a minor charge, it can have a serious impact on your life if you are convicted. If you are charged with shoplifting within Tennessee, you would be wise to contact an experienced defense attorney to represent you during legal proceedings. A good defense can mean the difference between being acquitted and having a permanent record and suffering some serious penalties.
The severity of a shoplifting charge is strongly tied to the value of the goods that were allegedly stolen. The list below outlines the general guidelines that a prosecutor will usually follow.
- $500 or less. The low end of the scale for shoplifting is a Class A misdemeanor which maxes out at one year in prison if convicted. You may also be liable for restitution and made to pay up to $2,500 in fines.
- $500 to $1,000. This value range results in a Class E felony charge and a minimum one year in prison upon conviction. Because of the seriousness of this punishment, it is advisable to have an attorney directing you toward your best options when facing shoplifting charges.
- $1,000 to $10,000. This a very serious charge and comes as a Class D felony. If you are convicted of a Class D felony in Tennessee you will be subject to between two and twelve years in prison. Again, it is wise to seek council quickly because of the potential for major punishment in this case.
The Issacs Law Firm is experienced in defending shoplifting cases of all kinds and can provide you with quality defense against your charges. Call our office at 865-673-4953 today to discuss setting up a free consultation.