The firearm laws in the state of Tennessee are not very restrictive. However, there are some cases in which you can be charged with a firearm crime. Most commonly, charges occur when an individual is carrying a handgun without a permit to do so. If you are facing such charges, working with an experienced defense attorney can help prepare you to defend yourself properly in court.
Carrying a firearm without the proper permit is a Class C misdemeanor in the state of Tennessee. Such a crime comes with a less than 30 days jail sentence and/or a $500 fine. If a second conviction should occur, those penalties are increased as it is considered a Class B misdemeanor and a maximum six month jail sentence.
No matter if you have several unlawful possession convictions or this is the first time you have been charged, Gregory P. Issacs is ready to come to your defense. His experience and knowledge of Tennessee state laws will make sure you are well prepared for your day in court. Your initial consultation is always free – just give us a call at 865-673-4953.